Nothing will motivate a man to move forward faster than knowing what's behind Him.

1. In 1775,   Salem Poor was a Black hero of the Revolutionary War. He distinguished himself so in battle that fourteen American officers praised him before Congress. On this day, a memorial was dedicated to him in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

2. In 1881,  Forty-seventh Congress (1881-83) convened. Two Black congressmen, Robert Smalls from South Carolina and John R. Lynch from Mississippi.

3. In 1935,  Langston Hughes’s play, The Mulatto, began a long run on Broadway.

4. In 1935,  Mary McLeod Bethune awarded Spingarn Medal for her work as founder-president of Bethune Cookman College and her national leadership.

5. In 1935,  Swing Age began with the commercial success of big bands. The decade of the thirties was the heyday for big bands of Chick Webb, Andy Kirk, Cab Calloway, count Basis, Jimmie Lunceford and Duke Ellington.

6. In 1935,  The National Council of Negro Women is founded by Mary McLeod Bethune.

7. In 1946,  President Truman created Committee on Civil Rights by Executive Order No. 9808. Two Black  Attorneys,  Sadie M. Alexander and Channing H. Tobias were members of the committee.

8. In 1946, The Spingarn Medal presented to Thurgood Marshall, director of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, “for his distinguished service as a lawyer before the Supreme Court.”

9. In 1955,  Asa Philip Randolph and Willard S. Townsend elected vice-president of the AFL-CIO.

10. In 1955, Carl Murphy, publisher of the Baltimore Afro-American is awarded Spingarn Medal for his contributions as a publisher and civil rights leader.

11. In 1955,  The Historic bus boycott began in Montgomery. At a mass meeting at the Holt Street Baptist Church.   Martin Luther King Jr. was elected president of the boycott organization.  The Bus Boycott lasted for 381 days, well over a year.

12. In 1957, Martin Luther King Jr. awarded Spingarn Medal for his leadership of the Montgomery Bus Boycott.

13. In 1957,  New York became the first city to legislate against racial or religious discrimination in housing market with adoption of Fair Housing Practices Law.

15. In 1981,  Marcus Allen, tailback for the University of Southern California, wins the Heisman Trophy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: